Contractor’s
Certificate of Workers’

Compensation Insurance
(Form 61-A)

www. warkcomp. virginia. gov

Electronic Fling Available Online

Name of Business Owner /Contractor
Last:

PLEASE COMPLETE FUALLY AND LEGIBLY

RETURN TO:

Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission
Attention: Insurance Department

333 E. Franklin Street

Richmond, VA 23219

Business or Trade Name

First:

Business FederalEmployer 1D (FEIN} or Tax ID NUmB&r:

Business Owner [ Contractor's Home Mailing Address:

Business Address if different from Business Owner Address:

City: State: Zip:

City: State: Zip:

Home Telephone:

Business: Corpld LLcO SolePropl] Partnershipll oOther(]

# of officers [ # of paidmembers ] # of partners: [

WORKERS™ COMPENSATION INSURANCE

Ifyou have workers’compensation insurance checkiype and complete below:

Type of Trade or Industry:

List ONLY WORKERS' COMPENSATION, not General Liability
O 1nsurance Carrierlicensedin Virginia

O self-insured with certificate of authorizationissued by the
Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission

L] Group Self-Insurance Association (GSIA) licensed by the State
Corporation Commission

1 A professional Employer Organization (PEO) registered in Virginia

Business Telephone: E-mall Addréss:

NCCI Garrier | Name of Insurance Carrier, Self-Insured, GSIA or
Code PEOC:

Policy, Master Policy or Certificate Number:

Policy Effective Date: Policy Expiration Date:

If you do not list workers’ compensation
insurance you must answer below:

1. Do you have morethantwo part-time or full-time employees?

(Note: Corporate officers, LLC managers, part-time ermployees and
employees of your subcontractors generally count as your employees for
Warkers'compensation purposes. Filing of a 1099, payment of cash wages
or designating a worker an “Independent Contractar” does not necessarily
eliminate or alter employee status under the Workers' Compensation Act.)

3 Yes B no

2. Do you hire Independent Contractors or subcontractors with
employeesto assistyou in your work?

1 Yes O no

What isL__t]he number of subcontractor workersthat assistyouin your
woark?

Failure to insure when required by lawshallsubject an employerto
civil penalties of up to $250 per day uninsured, subjectto a maximumn
penalty of $50,000.00 plus costs, pursuant to Virginia Cede § 65.2-805

Under penalty of perjury, the undersigned certifies s/he is duly authorized by the business license applicant to execute this certificate;
the information provided herein is correct; and the businessis in compliance with Chapter 8 of Title 65.2 of the Virginia Workers'
Compensation Act and will remain in compliance with the law during the effective periodof the businesslicense.

Signature ol Applicant (Contractor or Business Owner)

Date

Print Name of Applicant

For questions regarding how to complete this form, please contact the Commission toli-free at 1-877-664-2566 or 804 205-3586

Certificates of Insurance Cannot be Accepted in Lieu of a Completed Form




INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE VWC FORM 61-A

To be completed by the contractor. All information requested is required.

1,
2.

3.

10.

11,

12,

13,
14,

15,

Enter the Business owner/ Contractor's name, mailing address and phone number, all information is required.
Enter the complete name of business. Additionally list the trade name under which the business operates if a trade name & used.

Enter the business address that is used to receive mail by the U.S. Postal Service, i this address is different from the business
owner / contractor’s address.

Provide the Federal Employer Identffication Number (FEIN) for the business. If one has not been issued, &t the Temporary FEIN
ssued by the Virginia Tax Dept.  you are a sole proprietor with neither, list your social security number; however it is best to
obtain a FEIN, given the restrictions on the use of social security numbers.

Check the legal status of the business.

If a corporation, enter the number of officers. If a LLC, enter the number of paid members. If a partnership, enterthe number
of partners.

Provide the type of trade orindustry in which the business is classified.
Enter the business phone number if there is one and the business e-mail if there s one,

Provide the workers' compensation insurance information if you have coverage. Enter onmfyworkers’ compensation insurance.
No other form of insurance substitutes. Provide the complete name of the insurance company or other insuring entity providing
workers’ compensation insurance coverage forthe business. Also enter the policy or member number and policy effective dates.

Do not fist the name of an insurance agent or agency. If you do not know or recall the name of your insurance company or
insuring entity, please contact your agent to obtain this information.

Out of state employers, please note, Virginia requires valid Virginia warkers’ compensation coverage for work performed in
Virginia. For a business that has a valid policy based outside Virginia, if the business either performs or subcontracts work in
Virginia, the business needs valid Virginia coverage and may usually secure valfid Virginia coverage with the proper Virginia
Amendatory Endorsement, adding Virginia to Item 3A of the policy. An employer from a monopalistic state must usually obtaln
separate coverage from a Virginia licensed insurance carier.

If you do not have / list workers’ compensation insurance on your form you must answer additional questions,
please answer whether you have mare than two employees and whether you hire subcontractors to assist in yourwork and the
number of subcontractor workers. A response to these questions is required.

Virginia workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements. Virginia law requires that every employer who
regularly employs more than two part-time or fulltime employees purchase and maintain workers' compensation insurance. A
business that hires subcontractors to assist in the work of the business or fuffill a contract of the business must count the
subcontractor's employees when counting employees to determine if / when coverage is required. This is true even if the
subcontractaor has their own workers’ compensation coverage,

A contractor should gather proof of coverage from all subcontractors hired and should not be charged insurance premium for
subcontractors that have thelr own coverage. Regardless, a contractor that hires subcontractors with employees must count the
subcontractor’'s employees when counting total employees and determining when / whether the contractor is required to carry
coverage. Virginia coverage requirements for contractors are surprisingly broad and unique. Please take time to review.

For workers' compensation insurance questions please contact the Virginia Workers” Compensation Commission at 804 205-3586.
Please ensure that the form is signed, tha name of the person signing the form is printed on it and the form is properly dated.

Return your completed form to the Workers’' Compensation Commission at 333 E, Franklin St., Richmond, VA
23219 Attn: Insurance Department

Note: The state funds of West Virginia and Maryland are not authorized to write workers' compensation insurance in Virginia.

DO NOTATTACH ANY DOCUMENTS TO THE CONTRACTOR’'S CERTIFICATE, J




